• 2020 David Adams Educator of the Year from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Scholastic Journalism Division
  • Edith Fox King Award, Texas Interscholastic League Press Conference, 2017 for significant contributions to Texas scholastic journalism
  • Distinguished Adviser Award for newspaper advising at a four-year college or university, College Media Association, 2014
  • Robin F. Garland Educator Award, National Press Photographers Association, 2014
  • Gold Key, Columbia Scholastic Press Association‘s highest award, 2010
  • Distinguished Service Award, Southern Interscholastic Press Association, 2008
  • Kay Phillips Distinguished Service Award, North Carolina Scholastic Media Association, 2008
  • Carl Towley Award, Journalism Education Association, 2007
  • Trailblazer Award, Texas Association of Journalism Educators, 2002
  • Squadsperson of the Year, Cary EMS, 2003
  • Texas Legend, Interscholastic League Press Conference, 2002
  • Lifetime membership, Cary EMS, 2001
  • President’s Award, National Press Photographers Association, 2000
  • Pioneer Award, National Scholastic Press Association, 2000
  • Star of Texas, the Association of Texas Photography Instructors’ highest award, 1999
  • Medal of Merit, Journalism Education Association, 1996